Simple Slow Cooker BBQ Grilled Chicken

Image As much as I love grilling, I find chicken a bit daunting.  Using a slow cooker method devised by the experts over at America’s Test Kitchen, I found a way to make grilled chicken/turkey a cinch.

What you’ll need:

Chicken/Turkey

Favorite seasonings (salt/pepper, garlic powder, cumin, oregano)

Your Favorite BBQ Sauce

Steps to Reproduce:

Image

1.  Season chicken on both sides and place in a cold slow cooker.  If you’re cooking an entire bird place in breast-side down. This will keep it from drying out.  I would butterfly this first.

 20130609_141021

2. Cook on the low setting for 3-4 hours.  I’ve found three hours works for perfectly me, America’s Test Kitchen suggest fully cooked bird between 4-6 on low.  Anything beyond this will result in dry meat.  Also if you’re doing wings, the meat will begin to separate from the bone.  This is not ideal for grill.

20130609_142136

   3. Remove chicken from the  slow cooker and transfer to a hot grill.  Brush your favorite BBQ sauce or glaze on the chicken and grill until they start to crisp. Enjoy!

One thought on “Simple Slow Cooker BBQ Grilled Chicken

Leave a comment